Too much separation of the hind leg in canter?

A forum for discussion of training in dressage
Lipsmackerpony88
Bringing Life to the DDBB

Too much separation of the hind leg in canter?

Postby Lipsmackerpony88 » Mon Apr 27, 2020 3:31 pm

Hi guys! I'm new here but have been reading and following along for the last few months. It seems like a fun and knowledgeable group.

I was curious if you guys think there can be too much separation of the hind legs in the canter? Can you have a horse with a far reaching inside leg but not enough jump in the canter?

I've been riding for over 25 years but only riding dressage the last ten. I'll admit I'm still sadly only capable of 2nd level, schooling 3rd and still very much learning!

I've always been taught to buy the canter and walk for Dressage, that the trot can be most improved on.

I bought a horse with what I thought and my trainer and the vet agreed, had a fairly good canter and walk. I personally don't like his trot much.

Now my gut tells me that my horse is having some discomfort in his hind end or back. I posted in a different thread that one issue is reluctance to have his hind feet messed with.

He has great separation of his hind legs. Like a big difference to my eye. But he seems to lack true push from behind. I'm wondering if he doesn't have such a great canter after all. Or maybe it's in there but there is something physical impeding him. Or maybe it's just his balance, he is still so young! I had been putting off the canter as it seemed like he was struggling with it, I figured he needed to strengthen/grow up some more before balancing in canter with a rider. I'd love opinions/advice if any of the makes sense.

blob

Re: Too much separation of the hind leg in canter?

Postby blob » Mon Apr 27, 2020 3:57 pm

Hi lipsmacker!