baucher bit?

blob
Bringing Life to the DDBB

baucher bit?

Postby blob » Fri Mar 06, 2020 12:48 am

I'm curious to hear from those that have used baucher bits--what kind of horses did you find them best for? What kind of noseband did you use with them? What kind of horses do they not work well for?

I've never used one before, so I don't know much about them, actually. I do know that they help keep the bit steady and that they relieve poll pressure.

I'm considering trying one for RP. He's a sensitive critter and his mouth has been an area where he does a lot of his fussing. His teeth are done nearly every 3-5 months because any time there are even small changes, he is bothered by it. And I'm really lucky to have a great dentist.

I don't anticipate any bit being a magic fix for his mouth sensitivity--I think he needs to get a lot stronger and more confident in contact in general before we have consistency in terms of mouth feel. But if I can help him have that confidence with the right bit, I'd love to do it.

He's currently in a dynamic loose ring french link with a lozenge. He's been an eggbutt french link with a flat middle piece and he's been in a thin kk ultra. The one he's in now seems to be where he's happiest. He goes in a drop noseband at the moment, but he's also been in a cavesson/flash setup. He goes about the same with both nosebands.

Would love to hear people's thoughts and experiences with bauchers (good or bad).

Flight

Re: baucher bit?

Postby Flight » Fri Mar 06, 2020 3:16 am

I actually found no difference with Norsey. He very light in the contact and get's closed in his gullet or then sticks his nose right out. The baucher didn't make any difference to his normal snaffle. See if you can borrow one before buying one.
I found him happiest in a mullen mouth and now he's in a myler kinda weird shaped mouth piece, but more like a mullen mouth than a jointed type.
I'm starting to have a collection of bits.. get's expensive.

Tanga